2015 Al Blanchard Award
photo of Al Blanchard


In memory of Al Blanchard, co-chair of the first three New England Crime Bake Conferences, NEMWA President, and member of Sisters in Crime; the New England Crime Bake Committee is sponsoring the Al Blanchard Award.

The 2015 Al Blanchard Award will be presented at the conference.

The winner is not required to attend conference.

red line
  • $100 cash award.
  • Publication in Level Best Books' Crime Fiction anthology.
  • Admission to the Crime Bake Conference.
  • Story must be a crime story by a New England author or with a New England setting.
  • Story must be previously unpublished (in print or electronically).
  • Story must not be more than 5,000 words in length.
  • Story may include the following genres: mystery, thriller, suspense, caper, and horror. (No torture/killing of children or animals.)
  • Send your submissions to: contest@crimebake.org
  • Type "Al Blanchard Award" in subject line. (Without it, attachments will not be opened).
  • Include your name, address, phone number, and e-mail address, as well as your story title and word count in the main body of your e-mail.
  • Send your story as an attachment in Word format, double-spaced.
  • We will promptly acknowledge the receipt of your submission. The attachment will be coded to insure anonymity and be sent on to the judges. Therefore, your name should not appear anywhere in the attachment.
  • There is no entry fee.
  • Limit of two stories per person.
  • Deadline for submission is April 30, 2015.

*** Please note: This contest is separate from the short story submission process for the Crime Stories by New England Writers anthology published annually by Level Best Books, although the winner of the Al Blanchard Award is featured in the collection.

If you are a New England author, you may submit up to two stories to both the Al Blanchard Award and also to Level Best Books for consideration for their anthology. Although many of the guidelines are the same, these are separate entities. Please be aware that submissions for consideration in the Level Best anthology must be made via hard copy by April 30, 2015. See www.levelbestbooks.com/submissions for details.

red line