Crime Bake is the premier conference for crime-fiction writers and readers in New England. Offering numerous opportunities to meet and network with agents, editors, and authors in a small, friendly environment, Crime Bake is a must-attend for mystery fans and writers. Don’t wait to sign up – registration sells out fast!

Flashwords stories now available!

Check out this year’s entries into the Flashwords contest.

2017 Flashwords! Booklet

Registration sold out in 11 days!

Early bird base pricing (until 7/12/17) for this 3-day conference: $199 for SinC and MWA members, as well as librarians; $229 for the general public.

Registration includes an incredible line up of seminars and/or panels each day, as well as Friday night pizza, Saturday breakfast & lunch, and Sunday breakfast.

Optional add-ons (with fees) include: Friday master classes, Agents & Editors package, Saturday night banquet, and manuscript critiques. See the full schedule.


Dates: November 10-12, 2017

Featuring 2017 Guest Of Honor Lisa Gardner

Lisa Gardner, a #1 New York Times crime thriller novelist, began her career in food service, but after catching her hair on fire numerous times, she took the hint and focused on writing instead. A self-described research junkie, her work as a research analyst for an international consulting firm parlayed her interest in police procedure, cutting edge forensics and twisted plots into a streak of internationally bestselling suspense novels, including her most recent release, Right Behind You.

With over 22 million books in print, Lisa is published in 30 countries. Her success crosses into the small screen with four of her novels becoming movies (At the Midnight Hour; The Perfect Husband; The Survivors Club; Hide) and personal appearances on television shows (TruTV; CNN).

Lisa Gardner’s novels have also received awards from across the globe. Her novel THE NEIGHBOR was recognized as the Best Hardcover Novel from the International Thriller Writers in the United States and Grand Prix des lectrices de Elle, prix du policier in France. She was also recognized with the Daphne duMaurior Award presented by RWA in 2000 for THE OTHER DAUGHTER.

Readers are invited to get in on the fun by entering the annual “Kill a Friend, Maim a Buddy” Sweepstakes at, where they can nominate the person of their choice to die in Lisa’s latest novel. Every year, one Lucky Stiff is selected for Literary Immortality. It’s cheaper than therapy, and you get a great book besides.

Lisa lives in New Hampshire with her auto-racing husband and black-diamond skiing daughter. She spends her days writing in her loft with a young silly sheltie and a adventurous terrier.